Hope in a World Lacking

Everywhere you look you find examples of negative occurrences. People inflicting harm upon one another, people lost and confused, incessant bickering about trivial matters, and on it goes.

The world feeds on this negativity. It sells and gets views. The problem is that the more we see it the more it poisons us, and the more people begin to lose hope. We internalize it and lash out to others. We love to hate others and hate ourselves. We cause harm to others and ourselves. We have lost the way.

Fear and hate have led so many astray that most of us don’t even know ourselves anymore. The demons of the past overthrow our minds and souls and eat away what we could be; eat away what good could come of our present and future.

So many feel helpless to do anything about the state of their own lives much less the state of the world. Hope slowly trickles away as we turn away from our own hearts. I myself have felt helpless in my own life. Feeling stuck and imprisoned in my own miserable existence. I’ve let my life go as many people have. I thought that this is all I was destined to have. I didn’t consider the possibility that maybe I could get up and take charge. I didn’t know what the next step was nor even how to carry out said theoretical step. Guess what? I still have no clue. All I know is I have to try something, anything. That is the only step that I know for sure can be taken. All this time of beating myself up for the failure that I had thought I had become, but I am only doing and can only do my best. I forget that I am still young. Even if I wasn’t young it would not make any difference whatsoever.

We berate ourselves for not having all the right answers right this instant. The self hatred polluting our homes and souls for not being able to be, know, and do everything that we think we should be able to be, know, and do. I can say that that has been my own source of tremendous frustration—-panicked and frantic searching for the perfect answer to make everything the way I think it should be, but I forget that if I had all the answers then I would probably have no reason to be here living this particular existence. I’m not here to know I’m here to learn. We’re not here to know everything and be perfect on the first try otherwise there would be no point to be here. There would be nothing to learn. It’s okay that you don’t know. It really is. That is why you’re here. You are here so that one day you will know what you need to know, but it will be learned by experience. Knowing won’t just come it has to be worked at.

Besides, let’s be real. Nobody learns by being told anything. That’s why people never take advice. That rebellious teen whom you have told time and time again to stop doing whatever they keep doing, or that one friend you have warned that the new guy she is seeing is a dick yet she swears he’s different. You can give people the best advice straight from the heavens, but you can guarantee they either won’t listen, or it will just motivate them to prove you wrong. They just never listen, do they? People usually only tend to learn their lesson when everything all goes downhill to the point where they cannot choose to be blind anymore. They have to fully personally experience something before they can finally learn their lesson from it. People (usually) only believe what they can see and/or can feel—what they can experience in some way with one or more of their senses.

There are no shortcuts, no cheat codes, no bribing God—nothing. We’re all here to move directly through life. We’re here for a specific reason that is tailored specifically for each one of us; something for our own reality—no one else’s. The lesson may come early or late; easier or harder. They don’t come when or because we want them to—they come when we need them to. When we are ready, it will come. I know that is an annoying and frustrating concept to have to accept, but the Universe does not run on our time. Don’t worry if the answers don’t come to you right now. They will come eventually.

Just relax and prepare yourself for what’s to come. Take the time to focus on and take care of the parts of you and your life that need some TLC that you have been neglecting. Don’t compare your journey to another’s journey because their journey is not yours. Theirs was crafted for them and only them. Be okay with where you are at, or if you’re in a tough place do what you have to do to keep your head up. Your best is good enough. Things may look bleak now, but they won’t always be. Your time will come. Maybe not today nor tomorrow, but it will come one day. Please, be patient for yourself.

Cultivate hope like it’s the last thing that will keep you going because it is. Don’t let it fall scarce. Hope is the drive that keeps us alive. Let go of the need to control every outcome. Not knowing is not a bad thing. It is a blessing. Be ready.

Leave a Reply

